About Tameside

Hyde Town Hall resized

The borough of Tameside was created in 1974 and comprises of nine former councils: Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Denton, Droylsden, Dukinfield, Hyde, Longdendale, Mossley and Stalybridge.

Tameside has a strong manufacturing heritage but although it is proud of this industrial heritage, it is by no means entrenched in the past.

Tameside occupies an important strategic location in Greater Manchester, stretching from the city of Manchester to the Peak District National Park. It also shares its borders with Stockport, Oldham and the High Peak. Tameside is an urban area of Greater Manchester, but also has direct links to areas of natural beauty such as the Peak District.

RingRoad resized

As a business location, Tameside has an advantage in terms of its strong and developing transport links to the rest of Greater Manchester, the city centre, the motorway and rail networks. The Metrolink extensions to Droylsden and Ashton is now open, cementing the links to the city centre and beyond. Manchester International Airport, which offers links to Europe and the rest of the World, is close by.